Structure of the Council

The Council is chaired by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, with the Director-General of NCCC also serving as its secretary.

The current members of the NCCC are:


  • The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria – Chairman.
  • The Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria – Vice Chairman.
  • Director-General National Council on Climate Change – Secretary.
  • The Minister of Environment.
  • The Minister of Finance, Budget, and National Planning.
  • The Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice.
  • The Minister of Mines and Steel Development.
  • The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.
  • The Minister of Women’s Affairs and Social Development.
  • The Minister of Power.
  • The Minister of Transportation.
  • The Minister of Water Resources.
  • The Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.
  • The National Security Adviser.
  • The National President of the Association of Local Governments of Nigeria.
  • The Chairman Nigeria Governors’ Forum.
  • The President, Nigerian Youth Congress, representing the Youth.
  • The DG, Nigerian Conservation Foundation, representing the private sector on climate change or environment-related matters.
  • The National President, National for Women Societies, representing Women’s Interests.
  • Representative of People With Disabilities.
  • Representative of environment-related CSO, appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Minister of Environment.